Heraldry Online Blog

11 February 2013

Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral; the Arms of Pope Benedict XVI

Filed under: Coat of Arms,Heraldry,People — Stephen J F Plowman @ 21:24
Tags: , ,

On Saturday whilst visiting my elder son, my wife and I popped into Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral.  On display there are the Arms of Pope Benedict XVI.  (I had not banked on HH the Pope becoming so newsworthy.)  Regrettably, I was only armed with my camera phone and as such my picture is not as good as I would wish.

Arms of Benedict XVI

The blazon:

Gules chape ployé Or with the scallop shell Or the dexter chape with a moor’s head Proper crowned and collared Gules the sinister chape a bear trippant Proper carrying a pack Gules belted Sable.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

