Heraldry Online Blog

29 January 2011

Heraldic Bookplates

Filed under: Heraldry — Stephen J F Plowman @ 17:07
Tags: , ,

A new departure for me is the heraldic bookplate.  Whilst  I did devise my own bookplate and duly plastered it liberally around my assorted hardbacks, I had not given that aspect of heraldry any real thought.  However, my recent excursions into eBay has rather opened my eyes to that means of heraldic & genealogical display.  Whilst I have no plans to collect bookplates myself, I do enjoy the challenge of putting names, blazons and, possibly, some family history to them.  Particularly so, if the surname is one of those I’ve covered in my “One Name Armorials”.

The heraldic bookplate provides a snapshot of the owner – at least as the owner wished to be viewed.  What will always be hard to ascertain is whether or not the Arms or family connections displayed are accurate.  The heraldic engravers of the past were quite often the “bucket shops” of their day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

